AT&T brings 5G to Austin, Miami, Salt Lake Metropolis, and 25 different areas

AT&T’s low-band 5G community is expanding to 28 new regions today, together with Austin, Miami, Dallas, and Salt Lake Metropolis. Should you’ve been ready for a slight pace increase over your present LTE connection and have a 5G-compatible telephone, you would possibly need to verify in case your neighborhood is a part of this newest growth.

Technically, we’re speaking about AT&T’s low-band 5G community, which has barely higher speeds and latency in comparison with 4G LTE. When OpenSignal tested 5G speeds from main telephone carriers in downtown cities over the winter, it discovered AT&T’s low-band obtain speeds averaged 59.3Mbps. The low-band community is to not be confused with AT&T’s 5G Plus, a high-band community with mmWave frequencies, which provide far sooner web speeds than low-band choices — sometimes over 1Gbps. The corporate additionally provides one other “5G” possibility: 5G E. However that’s not actual 5G in any respect, however quite a slightly faster version of LTE. Sure, it’s all a bit complicated.

My colleague Chaim Gartenberg did a robust explainer on 5G earlier this month and defined that though 5G, normally, will add to and improve mobile expertise, it supplies quite a lot of tradeoffs on account of how 5G radio’s electromagnetic spectrum works, how costly 5G smartphones are, and the restricted vary of 5G community protection.

The brand new addition brings AT&T’s complete quantity as much as 355 protection areas, although its massive milestone was in April when the service launched its low-band 5G in 137 new cities together with Atlanta, Baton Rouge, Nashville, and Tallahassee. The service’s promising nationwide 5G by the tip of the yr. Right here’s the total listing of all of the areas now providing low-band 5G beginning in the present day:



  • Melbourne
  • Miami
  • Orlando
  • West Palm Seashore







North Dakota/Minnesota



Puerto Rico

  • Aguadilla
  • Aibonito Municipality
  • Arecibo
  • Mayaguez
  • Ponce
  • Rincon Municipality
  • San Juan



  • Austin
  • Dallas
  • Navarro County
  • Victoria
  • Wilson County


Source link